Seeing the grotto where St. Bernadette was graced with eighteen visions of the Virgin Mary is a gift. Not only was I speechless at the first sight of the extraordinary church built above the shrine, but I was moved by the sincere faces and songs of the Catholic pilgrims. This site is as sacred as Jerusalem, Mecca and the Ganges. More than five million people visit each year, many of whom are searching for a cure.

Swept along with hundreds of wheelchairs, candles and banners, I also asked that all people have a life of health and happiness.

While riding my bike back to our French inn, the hills felt easier to ascend and opportunities to see the world more precious.

2 responses »

  1. It’s a good thing I went St Bernadette Catholic School with all my ailment/injuries.

    Enjoy your trip.

    Steve

  2. Terri, This is beautiful. I assume you are biking through France now? Thanks for sharing you wonderful experience. Lisa

Leave a Reply

