The Big Island: unforgettable

Goddess of Fire

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Stumbling amidst razors of obsidian suspended by crimson veins,

I stare at Pele’s power to transform.

As shadows deepen, blindness threatens,

live scarlet flows glow, reshaping cliffs, forming a maze.

We dare to hike nine shaky miles on silica spikes

in search of earthly understanding.

While Pu’u OO is shaping Hawaii

blisters form on soles, fears arise in puffs,

rotten egg odors invade nostrils.

“Pele, I struggle to find my true purpose.

Your force and persistence impress me.”

Must I walk on fire, endure pain,

accept sadness, survive a century?”

“Naturally, I create so your spirit can soar,

I deliver newborn earth, just as woman delivers young.

Walking mindfully quiets the chatter sister,

Insight will bubble up like lava.”

Leave a Reply

